I.O.U.V.F.W.

Said far better than I could . . .

Mad Man Knitting

I’ve written a similar post to this in the past, but it deserves repeating.

As we begin a solid moment of barbecues, the beginning of summer and the clambering of vacationing tourists, I like to think upon the purpose of Memorial Day.

I often refer to the fallen soldiers on this weekend, because people really do forget while tossing hot dogs on a grill and enjoying a three day weekend, why this day was set purposely aside….

…..but I was thinking of someone else. I know quite well the difference between Memorial Day and Veteran’s Day (and believe it or not, meany people do not).

This year I wanted to consider a different aspect of service that veterans of foreign conflicts were unwillingly subjected to: the bringing home of fellow soldiers that perished in this desperate desire of ours for freedom.

These are the men and women that brought home…

View original post 639 more words

Leave a Reply

